ASTA AZ: American String Teachers Association

News

ASTA-AZ REWARDS PARTNERS

Southwest Strings: Create an account or add your ASTA ID Member Number to your current account to receive significantly discounted pricing on all purchases!

Arizona State University: Recieve a 10% discount on all School of Music Events by showing your ASTA Membership Card or submitting our dedicated online reward code when purchsing tickets. Discount can be used in addition to already discounted student and senior pricing!

Musical Instrument Museum: Stay tuned for a special benefit to all ASTA-AZ members for the exhibit, Stradivarius - Origins and Legacy of the Greatest Violin Maker, January-May 2016.

MusicaNova: Recieve a 20% discount on all MusicaNova performances by showing your ASTA Membership Card or submitting our dedicated online reward code when purchsing tickets. Discount can be used in addition to already discounted student and senior pricing!

Haven’t joined ASTA yet? Log onto www.astaweb.com and register today. It’s easy and so beneficial! Just the ASTA Journal is worth the cost of membership, but there are so many more benefits, such as net working with other string teachers throughout Arizona, the Fall Workshop with a national clinician, events for your students, local and national solo competitions, resources and publications from national ASTA, support for your school program or studio, the incredible ASTA national conference, and so much more.

Private Teacher's List

Do you know an Outstanding Studio Teacher in Arizona?  Please send or email nomination form to theodorebuchholz@hotmail.com.

SUBMIT on line:  GOOGLE DOC for nomination form on line

Repertoire for All State Audition Solo List This is list is for the AMEA AZ ALL STATE AUDITION preparation (violin, viola, cello, bass)

All teachers listed below are memberts of our professional organization, American String Teachers Association (ASTA.) We suggest that you interview potential teachers for qualifications, experience, and policies. Often teachers will even allow you to observe a lesson. We are proud of the high quality of string teaching in Arizona and know you will find the perfect teacher for your child or even for yourself.

 

Flagstaff/Prescott

Kent Gugler; violin, mandolin, guitar, banjo, bass. (928) 778-1360 or guglers@cableone.net

Philip A. Kuhns; violin and viola. (928) 445-0457 or drkuhns@yahoo.com

Kari Lapins; violin and viola. (928) 600-1365 or kari.barton@nau.edu 

Shelley Rich; violin. (928) 600-2908 or Shelley.rich@nau.edu

 

Litchfield Park NE Phoenix/Phoenix Metro East/Central Scottsdale North Scottsdale/N. Phoenix/Scottsdale/East Valley/Chandler/Gilbert/Tempe

Lynne Aspnes; harp. (734) 417-9899 or laspnes@asu.edu

Dr. Carolyn Broe; violin, viola, cello. (602) 493-3118 or drcarolynbroe@gmail.com

Helen Brush; violin, viola. (480) 948-6920 or Helen@VioForte.com

Rachael Carson; violin, viola, cello, bass voice. viobug@me.com

Dr. Mary DiBartolo; cello. (928) 380-3312 or mary.dicello@gmail.com

Dr. Charlotte Farney; cello, begin. violin in your home. (480) 922-6240

Pat Fisher; cello and piano. triobrio@cox.net

Claire Gordon; violin and viola. 623-547-0373 or clairegordon@cox.net

Matt Gould; guitar. (513) 478-6989 or email@duo46.com

Mary Guthrie; cello. (602) 405-7800 or marieaguthrie@gmail.com

Mary Harrah; viola and violin. (480) 967-3447, https://harrahviolinviola.musicteachershelper.com/, or violamary89@hotmail.com

Ajay Patel; cello. 480-221-3955 or cellopatel@gmail.com 

Marlene Rausch; violin and chamber music. (480) 473-7152

Susanne Rothaar; violin/viola advanced students only. (480) 262-7660 Cell or derazy@aol.com

Russell Schmidt; jazz violin/jazz studies. (480) 759-4660

Beth Schneider-Gould; violin. (513) 703-2539 or email@duo46.com

Kathryn Seigfried, violin and viola. (480) 254-4537 or ktlynn09@gmail.com

Katherine Shields, DMA; violin, viola, chamber music. (480) 980-6516 or k.shields2@cox.net

Emmanuelle Scully; violin. emmanuellescully@aol.com

Dagmara Suchon, violin. (602) 653-7980 or dagasuchon@gmail.com or www.ladydaga.us

Dr. Dan Swaim; bass. (480) 839-3764 or sdswaim@cox.net

Danica Terzic; violin. (480) 219-0506 or danica@terzic.com

Sujoy Thorlakson; violin, viola, recorder, piano. (602) 509-9305 or sujoy740@aol.com

Leslie Turner; violin. (480) 922-4671

Patty Waxman; violin. (602) 908-2929 or pattywaxx@yahoo.com

Mary Wilkening; cello. (623) 935-5313 or marywilkening@cox.net

 

Scottsdale South/Tempe/Tempe ASU

Cindy Baker; violin/viola/harp. (602) 993-9869 or clbqsmb@earthlink.net

Nancy Buck; viola. nancy.buck@asu.edu

Roberta Chorlton; violin. 602-253-5055 or rdchorlton@netzero.net 

Dr. Charlotte Farney; cello. charcello1@cox.net

VerRona Grandil; violin/viola. verronagrandil@gmail.com  or (602) 692-0020

John Haggard; violin/viola. (480) 753-0979 Home or (480) 861-2172 Cell derazy@aol.com

Tim Sadow; violin and viola. (480) 732-7829 or timsadow@cox.net

Rebekah Sanders; violin. (480) 266-0952

Dr. Jonathan Swartz; violin. Swartz@asu.edu

Dr. Alex Zheng; cello. cellozheng@hotmail.com

 

Tucson

Candace Amato; violin and viola. (240) 426-5541 or c.n.amato@gmail.com

Dr. Theodore Buchholz; cello. (520) 307-5390 or buchholz@email.arizona.edu

Dennis Bourret; violin and viola. (520) 465-1334 or dbourret@cox.net

Yvonne Creanga; violin and viola. (520) 991-3789 or yvonne.creanga@gmail.com

Darian Douglas; violin and viola. (520) 696-8147 (office), (520) 870-5574 (mobile) or Darian.s.douglas@gmail.com

Sandra Dusterdick; violin. SKD@cartermorey.com or (520) 881-4288

Melanie Olsen Fan; violin. melanie@melanieolsenfan.com

Michael Fan; violin. mikefan@gmail.com

Rosamond Finley - Soundpost Studio; violin, viola, and cello. (520) 907-7545 rosamond@soundpoststudio.com

Rebecca Foreman; harp. (520) 909-2723 or forharp@earthlink.net

Rebecca McKee: Suzuki violin and viola. (520) 909-4496 or violaram@earthlink.net

David Rife; violin. (520) 322-5557 or drife@gmail.com

Carlie Rigg, violin. (520) 975-0124 or cmrigg05@gmail.com

Holly Schurr; violin and viola. (520) 401-7267 or holly4schurr@gmail.com

Dr. Laura Tagawa; violin and viola. (520) 461-4535 or lauratagawa@gmail.com

Toru Tagawa; violin. tagawat@hotmail.com

Rose Todaro; violin and viola. (520) 979-5914 or roseteachviolin@gmail.com

Mary Beth Tyndall; cello. (520) 884-4308 or mbtcello@cox.net

 

Yuma

Margaret Fenske; cello. mfenske2008@yahoo.com

 

Jonas Music Services

Southwest Strings

Andrews Fine Violins

Music & Arts